Fun on the “Whiskey River”   7 comments

Yesterday evening was a special treat. Somehow I worked out a deal with my beautiful wife that allowed me to go fishing one last time in the Driftless this season. Stephen Rose and John Jackels joined me in a trip to the “Whiskey River”, my name for a little stretch of paradise west of town. It was a jaw-droppingly beautiful evening to be out on a trout stream, and I feel so fortunate to have had the chance to go.

Stephen caught his first post-heart-attack trout, and then he caught a half-dozen more for good measure. He was understandably excited about his success, as was I.

John, a consummate outdoorsman, joined us for, I believe, his second ever Driftless trout fishing experience, and he also caught a half-dozen trout, all on dries.

As for me, I was able to hook into a bunch of trout too, many on dries, some nymphs, and one on a big orange streamer.

We finished up the night with a streamside fire, thanks to John’s capable firestarting,  and some butter-fried trout cooked up by Stephen. They were the tastiest trout I’ve ever eaten.

It was an experience I won’t soon forget!

 

John and Stephen casting to fish in the afternoon shadows

John and Stephen casting to fish in the afternoon shadows

 

Stephen with a bend in his rod

Stephen with a bend in his rod

 

Nicely!

Nicely!

 

The colors. The Colors!

The colors. The Colors!

 

The beautiful "Whiskey River"

The beautiful “Whiskey River”

 

John angling for dinner

John angling for dinner

 

There it is.

There it is.

 

My best fish Sunday, caught on a big orange streamer.

My best fish Sunday, caught on a big orange streamer.

 

John and Stephen winding down in the late afternoon.

John and Stephen winding down in the late afternoon.

 

A fire and some fried fish. What a way to end the day!

A fire and some fried fish. What a way to end the day!

 

 

7 responses to “Fun on the “Whiskey River”

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks wonderful. Thank you Tom for everything. You are three lucky guys!
    Jackie

  2. Oh what a beautiful time. I’m smiling.
    Mom

  3. So envious.  Your photos are spectacular.  Thank you for sharing.

    Carol

    chafeman@comcast.net
  4. Terrific pictures! Out of curiosity, which river/stream is this really?

Leave a Reply

