A Series of E-Mails   2 comments

June 11, 2012 at 4:06 PM

From: Tom

To: Stephen

Hope these work. Craig at Fontana had some encouraging success stories of night fishing on BEC and said the hex hatch has started. Last year he caught a 23-inch brown on a hex.

 

Hexagenia Limbata and Mouse flies

Hexagenia Limbata and Mouse flies

 

June 11, 2012 at 6:41 PM

From: Stephen

To: Tom

Interesting.

Were you serious about bringing a larger rod along tonight?

 

Tom rigging up for late evening June trout fishing

Tom rigging up for late evening June trout fishing

 

June 12, 2012 at 7:27 PM

From: Tom

To: Stephen

I am planning to fish tomorrow morning at [REDACTED]. Planning to leave by 4:20. Interested?

 

Wednesday morning on Black Earth Creek

Wednesday morning on Black Earth Creek

 

June 13, 2012 at 8:34 AM

From:Stephen

To: Tom

Did you go this morning?

I opted out as I stayed up too late with the boys watching the NBA finals.

I read this article this morning and thought it sounded like something that could be done right here in the Midwest as a moonlighting outfit.

It recalls our interest in the firehouse. How cool would it be to have a business begun that addresses all of our midwestern microbreweries!

That would be an awfully cool network to be a part of. And this could inevitably lead to making your own beer.

I could see the firehouse being used as a ‘malthouse’ and then selling microbrews and malted milks for kids using malt made right on the property. Then we could open a paddle board shop downstairs and let people test product down on the waterfront. I believe we would officially be rock stars after that. I would need to get some tattoos and a supermodel mistress.

Cool?

 

A "Stout 13-incher"

A “Stout 13-incher”

 

June 13, 2012 at 9:50 AM

From: Tom

To: Stephen

Yep, I’m in on the malt house/microbrew/paddleshop/mistress thing. I’ll have to read the article today and get back to you on what it all means.

I did go out today. I was out the door at about 4:45 and on the water at 5:15. I tried small stuff and big stuff on the surface, including the Hex Spinner that looks like a hummingbird on the water.

First fish landed was on a large stonefly nymph. It was a cool take. The nymph had just hit the water and was sinking when the fish came up from the deep and nailed it, coming out of the water in the process. It was a pretty stout 13-incher.

Then I landed a couple of smaller fish, maybe 8 inches, on a small nymph. I tried some more small dries because fish were surfacing randomly and sporadically and there were a very few little white bugs coming off. But a few hits and no hookups later, I went back to a mid-size nymph, that buggy thing with legs I got in LA, and I got one more beat up 13-inch Brown.

It was a beautiful morning.

Pics sometime today on the Blog.

Tom

 

 

...one more beat up 13-inch Brown

…one more beat up 13-inch Brown

 

June 13, 2012 at 10:02 AM

From: Stephen

To: Tom

Damn dude that is some pretty fine fishing for a couple hours on the water.

Nice! I look forward to seeing the pics.

I should have come along today. My calendar is virtually empty.

 

 

I should have come along today. My calendar is virtually empty.

I should have come along today. My calendar is virtually empty.

 

 

2 responses to “A Series of E-Mails

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dammit! Those are the pics I was afraid of. Nice piece of fishing dude. That one with the cut out in the dorsal is almost surely the result of the greatest fisher of all-time, the Great Blue Heron.

    Cool.

    • I thought those pics might raise your hackles a little. Amazing how beautiful a little morning trout fishing can be.
      That roughed-up Brown looks like he’s escaped a few adventures…

Leave a Reply

