Fishing with the Kirches   4 comments

On Saturday I went out to the Driftless with my uncle Tony, my cousins Mike and Nathan, and Nathan’s father-in-law Randy. All of these men are true outdoorsmen, logging lots of time in blinds, tree stands, trout streams, and pheasant fields. I’m grateful to have spent the day with them chasing after trout in this beautiful part of our state.

My uncle Tony has been fishing since he was a very little kid. I only realized a few years ago how much of a trout nut he is, and I have him to thank for opening my eyes to all the trout fishing opportunities out there. About three years ago Tony took my son Bode and I out to the Blue Mounds area to fish for trout, and I remember my amazement at how such beautiful, big, healthy fish could live in a stream that’s only 4 feet wide. And unlike many of their lake cousins, trout aren’t scaly and spikey.

Tony grew up fishing with his dad and uncles in the Driftless. The family farm is across the street from Dunlap Creek north of Mazomanie, and Tony has told stories of his uncles pulling plenty of 20″-and-better fish out of that creek. I wish I could have been there.

My cousins Mike and Nathan grew up near my grandfather in the town of Dunn and had summertime trips to trout streams with him. I didn’t know my grandpa was a trout nut either, until just recently. His favorite spot was on Mill Creek near Boaz, where he drifted worms with Mike and Nathan during the summer.

My grandpa always had work to do for his grandsons, something I only got a taste of since we lived a couple hours north. But Mike and Nathan were put to work plenty, doing chores with grandpa. Their reward was a trip to the trout stream the next day. Nathan told me that when they got to the stream grandpa would remind him, “Don’t get to close to the creek.” But as any curious kid does, Nathan got too close and fell in, and grandpa’s big hand would reach down and pull him out of there by the back of his shirt.

On Saturday we fished water that was all new to me. Below are some images from our day out. Thanks for a great time guys!

Tony Kirch in the Driftless
Tony Kirch in the Driftless
 
Moving Water

Moving Water

 
Hang on Nathan!

Hang on Nathan!

 

A farm in the hills of the Driftless

A farm in the hills of the Driftless

 

Tony and Mike on the Mill

Tony and Mike on the Mill

 

Tony with a trout

Tony with a trout

 

 

Mike Kirch

Mike Kirch

 
Mike working a bend pool

Mike working a bend pool

 
Mike drifting a crawler

Mike drifting a crawler

 
 

Tony Kirch

Tony Kirch

 
 

Into the net

Into the net

 
What a beauty!

What a beauty!

 
 

Sabin School, Sylvan, WI

Sabin School, Sylvan, WI

 
 

Holsteins in the Driftless

Holsteins in the Driftless

 
Mill Creek, Richland County, WI

Mill Creek, Richland County, WI

 
We'll be back...

We'll be back...

 
4 responses to “Fishing with the Kirches

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sweet looking creek you guys got there!

  2. Nice job, Tom.
    Sounds like (and looks like from the photos) I missed a good day.

    Ray

  3. Beautiful photos. I so wish I had a creek that looked like that here in KY. I must make a trip to WI, the sooner the better!

Leave a Reply

